History of the An Taclobanon Association of Southern California

The An Taclobanon Association of Southern California is a 501 (c) (4) non-profit organization which was established because of the strong social ties among the Taclobanons in Southern California. The founding members hoped to nurture this closely knit community and transform it into a socio-civic organization that could benefit the US-based community and those in Tacloban. It was in 1984 that a group of  Taclobanons started planning to establish the non-profit organization. On July 20, 1985, An Taclobanon Association of Southern California  elected their charter officers: 

Edwin Tiu, President
Ramon Duarte, Vice-President
Carlota Jaojoco-Sta. Ana, Secretary
Raffy Lagado, Assistant Secretary
George Yu , Treasurer
Henry Badar, Auditor
Eddie Ros, P.R.O.
Gindy Sydiongco and Cesar Urbayan, Protocol Officers.

Board of Directors:
Celing Aguinid 
Baby Esperas-Cui
Guy Engle, Emily Garcia
Nonie Jaojoco
Butch Ollero
Joe Salem

The following year, with about a hundred members, the Association started its first project, which was the celebration of the annual fiesta in honor of Santo Nino. It was also in this occasion that the first Mrs. An Taclobanon Contest was held, with Baby Esperas-Cui winning the title. The fiesta celebration in honor of Santo Nino became an annual project of the Association. In 1989, the Association held the first Ms. An Maglipayon contest, with Rochelle Romana Mesa winning the crown. The Association focused on these annual events as a way of preserving the unique cultural heritage of Tacloban and to encourage Taclobanons to be actively involved.

In August 9, 1996, the Association received its certificate as a Non-Profit, Public Benefit 
Corporation from the Secretary of State of California. During the same year, it was 
granted the tax-exempt status by the Internal Revenue Service and the California 
Franchise Tax Board, making it a full-fledged community-based charitable organization.

Through the years, the Association had the following presidents:

Edwin Tiu (1985-1986)
Cesar Urbayan (1987-1988)
Joe (Tating) Zosa (1989-1990)
Ramon D. Duarte (1991-1992)
Henry de Guia (1993-1994)
Raffy Lagado (1995-1996; & 1997-1998)
Eric Cordeta (1999-2000)
Manuel Agner (2001-2002)
Susan Urbayan-David (2003-2004; & 2005-2006)
Peter Caludac (2007-2008)
Evelina (Baby) Esperas-Cui (2009-2010)
Robert (Bobby) Aguilos (2011-2012; & 2013-2014)

Website Builder